Patron Bulk Change - Blocks/Notes Tab
Use the Patron Record Bulk Change dialog box to make the same changes to all the records in a patron record set. See Creating and Using Record Sets and Bulk-Changing Patron Records.
The settings on the Blocks/Notes tab control changes in patron record blocks and free-text notes. Select the fields you want to change, select the appropriate action, and specify new text if appropriate.
Blocks - The text of each library-assigned block is set in Polaris Administration; the text of each free-text block is manually entered when you create the block. See Working with Blocks (Stops). You can change one library-assigned block and one free-text block per bulk-change process. You can choose from the following actions:
- Add - Add a block to each record. For library-assigned blocks, select the block from the list. For free-text blocks, type the text in the text box.
- Delete - Delete a block from each record. For free-text blocks, you must type the entire existing text string in the text box.
- Replace - For free-text blocks only, replace the existing text of the block with new text. You must type the entire existing text string in the Find box.
Non-blocking notes - These notes do not block the patron at circulation. The Non-blocking notes field in a patron record is a single field. You cannot bulk-change specific text within the field. When you bulk-change the field, you can choose from the following actions:
- Append - Add text to the end of an existing note in each record.
- Prepend - Add text to the beginning of an existing note in each record.
- Clear - Delete the entire note.
Blocking notes - These notes block the patron at normal check-out and renewal. The Blocking notes field in a patron record is a single field. You cannot bulk-change specific text within the field. When you bulk-change the field, you can choose from the following actions:
- Append - Add text to the end of an existing note in each record.
- Prepend - Add text to the beginning of an existing note in each record.
- Clear - Delete the entire note.